top of page

Des Moines City Council Candidate Survey

Every candidate was asked to complete this survey on transportation issues.


With responses from 14 candidates, this process illuminates each candidate’s thoughts on transportation safety, budgeting and public spending, and how to make Des Moines a stronger city for walking, biking, and transit. Its purpose is to educate and inform the public. The Collective does not endorse candidates.


For responses, click the blue text for each race. Candidates who did not respond in gray


Connie Boesen

Denver Foote

Josh Mandelbaum

Christopher William Von Arx (NA)

Ward 1

Rob Barron

Chris Coleman

Kathy Hellstern

Dennis McCullough

Kimberley Strope-Boggus

RJ Miller (NA)

Rose M Smith (NA)

At Large


AJ Drew

Carl Voss (Incumbent)

Ward 2


Chelsea Lepley

Linda Westergaard (Incumbent)

Ward 4

Jason Benell

Joe Gatto (Incumbent)

Justin Torres (NA)

Polk County Voting Rules

Polls are open from 7:00 AM until 8:00 PM on Tuesday, November 7, 2023. Find your polling place here.

Early Voting & Vote-by-Mail

All registered voters can request an absentee ballot and vote from home. Print and mail this Absentee Ballot Request Form by October 20, 2023. Return form to:  Polk County Election Office 120 2nd Avenue, Suite A.  Des Moines, IA 50309


Completed absentee ballots must be received by the county auditor by 8 PM on Election Day, regardless of when they’re postmarked.

Election-Day Voting
Registered voters bring a photo ID. Acceptable IDs are an Iowa driver's license or a non-operator ID, a U.S. passport or military ID, a veteran's ID, tribal ID or an Iowa voter ID card. If the address on your ID does not match your current address, you must bring proof of residency.

Same-Day Voter Registration
Iowa has same-day voter registration. If you are not registered to vote, you can do so at the polls when you show up in-person to vote on Election Day. To register, provide ID and proof of residency.


bottom of page